How it Works

GCF Certification is defined by its Certification Criteria.

To become certified, a product needs to be tested against all the Certification Criteria that have been defined for each technology and functionality incorporated within the product.

GCF Certification Criteria comprises:

  • Conformance Tests: on network simulators,
  • Field Trials: verifying device behaviour on live commercial networks
  • Interoperability Tests (IOP): end-to-end functional checks.

Through its membership structure and relationships with other industry bodies, GCF ensures that Certification Criteria remain relevant to the current needs of its members and the wider industry.

To ensure its integrity, GCF Certification encompasses four distinct processes:


  • Manufacturers demonstrate they have the skills, working practices and resources to participate in the certification scheme


  • Certification Criteria are defined for new features and requirements


  • Test platforms and tools developed for new conformance Certification Criteria are independently validated



  • All GCF Operator Members are automatically notified about each newly certified product


  • Underpins the robustness of the scheme by providing a mechanism for a product's certification to be challenged.

GCF on Twitter